Enjoying the moment #2

I’m still spending my mornings off snuggled up reading. I’m really enjoying reading again and I’m reading a lot of different genres and just enjoying that time I get to myself.

I find that once I get going with things and I start to enjoy it, it just becomes natural. It’s not just a lazy morning thing now, I read on my lunch breaks, on the bus, in the evenings, you get what I mean. I just enjoy it. It makes me happy.

It’s a shame I can’t say the same for writing, hence why the posts on this blog are irregular and all over the shop. I just can’t quite get back into it. I used to write every day, I’d carry a notebook everywhere to jot any ideas I had, I’d stay up until the early hours of the morning completely lost in what I was writing. It was a passion and a therapy of mine. I hope that will come back in time. Hopefully if I stick at it….

Anyway, I’m veering off topic, yet again. What I actually want to talk about today is yoga.

I’ve been doing yoga on and off for years. I’d go to classes for a few months, miss a few then struggle to get back into it for a while, then I’d go back, miss a few etc etc

So when I was going through a rough patch a few months ago, the last thing I wanted to do was go to a class full of strangers to do some yoga. So I turned to you tube and found the lovely Yoga with Adriene  and I’ve been practising ever since.

I think what’s kept me going with it this time is that I can just do it whenever I want, I’m not tied to class times, having to drive to the class (massive pain as I live in the middle of nowhere) then back home afterwards. It’s also so much easier to just let go of everything and just relax into it when I’m at home and by myself. I can really feel the benefits of it too; I’m feeling much calmer, more focused, I’m using my breathing more to control my anxiety and to top it all my body feels stronger.

I think Adriene is also another reason I’ve stuck at it. She teaches it with a sense of humour but at the same time really helps me to understand what I’m doing. There’s no pressure and she really encourages you to find what’s right for you. Plus there’s such a variety of videos so it’s different every time meaning I definitely have to focus.

So I’m reading, doing my yoga and trying to do some writing. I’m feeling pretty good at the moment- I don’t want to jinx it by saying that but it’s really nice to be able to say it.

There’s a huge thunderstorm going on right now so I’m going to go and enjoy it (I love storms!).

-ShortGirl

 

Leave a Reply

